Chocolate Pecan Pie

Image

Let’s get one thing straight about this pie, you will not want to share! I usually make this around the holidays with my mom and sisters, and we crank them out 4 at a time. And then gift them to our friends and family. Today, I was feeling extra cheery, or rather am getting used to not having homework to do, so decided… why not bake some chocolate pecan pies. They’re a treat for everyone. So tonight, on my relaxing Sunday afternoon/evening, I baked three chocolate pecan pies. One for my friend Hosana, we went grocery shopping together today, and I thought a pie at the office would be a nice Monday pick me up. The second pie I will bring to my grandmother’s for dessert tomorrow, and the third pie I’ll keep at home for my sister, myself and my roommates.

This chocolate pecan pie is so good you will not stop at just one slice. My family loves it when I make this for them. it’s a great combination of sweet and salty. I love to drizzle a little bit of semi sweet chocolate on top too, just to give it that extra chocolate-y loving. The recipe below is for one pie, although I usually bake two at a time if I am buying the frozen deep dish pie shells, since two come in one package.

 

Image

ImageImage

Chocolate Pecan Pie

Baking Temp: 325

Baking Time:  45min – 1 hr

Ingredients:

3 eggs

1 cup sugar

½ teaspoon vanilla

¼ teaspoon salt

¾ cup corn syrup

2 oz unsweetened chocolate

¼ cup of butter (½ stick)

Instructions:

First you want to add eggs to mixing bowl and mix on medium speed until frothy. Then add vanilla.

In a separate bowl melt chocolate and butter. I microwaved it for 1 to 1 ½ minutes, in 30 second increments to be sure the chocolate didn’t burn. Make sure the chocolate is cool before adding it to the eggs, you don’t want the high temperature of the chocolate to cook the eggs. Put this bowl to the side.

Next, add the sugar in with the eggs then add in salt and syrup. Mix together.

Last add in the chocolate and butter mixture, until all ingredients are combined. This does not take long, around 1 to 2 minutes. Don’t over mix the batter.

In your frozen pie shells, pour in 1 cup of pecans. Then add 1/2 cup of the batter on top of pecans. Add in the last 1/2 cup of pecans on top of batter. Then add another 1 to 1 1/2 cups of batter on top of the pecans.

The pie will cook for 45 minutes to 1 hour. After the first thirty minutes of baking, remove pie and cover with aluminum foil, this will prevent the pie from burning on top.

Let cool for 20-30 minutes and then you can serve or save for later. No need to refrigerate.

 ImageImage

Image

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Pecan Pie

Leave a Reply

