Moist and Delicious Lemon Pound Cake

Hello readers! Lately I have been so busy preparing for graduation and knee deep in finals that i haven’t gotten a chance to post this recipe for lemon pound cake! Thursday was my last final and this course was taught by a professor who has helped me throughout my two years at CSUEB. He is one of my favorites in the communications department, and I wanted to thank him for everything. So, what better way to thank someone than to bake them something delicious! I came up with lemon pound cake because I’d been wanted to bake a pound cake for a while now. Then after browsing through Pintrest, I called my grandmother and asked her for a recipe. She instructed me to do the following and I must say the pound cake turned out perfect! When I delivered it to my professor, I opened it up to show him how good it looked, and you could smell the lovely scent of lemon. I wanted to cut a slice right then and there, but I refrained (of course). I sprinkled the cake with powdered sugar after it was cool.

Lemon Pound Cake - Whole Cake Lemon Pound Cake - Side View

 

Oven Temp: 350

Baking Time: 45 min to 1 hour

Lemon Pound Cake

Ingredients:

3 cups sugar

1 cup butter (2 sticks)

½ cup shortening

5 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla

3 cups flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

pinch of salt

1 lemon zested

6 tablespoons lemon juice

½ cup whole milk

2 teaspoons vanilla

 

Instructions

In mixing bowl cream butter and shorting until fluffy, then add in the sugar until creamy. Add in each egg one by one as you mix all ingredients together until smooth and creamy. This process should take about 10 minutes. Add in the vanilla, lemon zest and lemon juice. Mix together.

In separate bowl mix dry ingredients – flour, baking powder and salt. In small increments add in flour to mixing bowl, and exchange between adding flour and milk. Mix until batter is nice and smooth.

Pour into batter into 2 loaf pans or 1 large bunt pant and bake at 350 degrees for 45minutes to 1 hour. Another known trick is to put a toothpick or fork into the middle of the cake and if it comes out clean, the cake is done.

2 thoughts on “Moist and Delicious Lemon Pound Cake

  1. I see a lot of interesting articles on your page. You have
    to spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there is a tool that
    creates unique, SEO friendly posts in couple of seconds, just type in google for –
    laranita’s free content source

Leave a Reply

