Not Your Granny’s Peach Cobbler

Sliced Peaches

This recipe is from a family friend who made this version of peach cobbler at our Easter family gathering. When I tried it, my mouth was instantly surprised by the different texture of the crust or what I thought was crust. It almost tasted like a graham cracker crust on top of the peaches. I had to get the recipe, it was delicious, and paired well with vanilla ice cream (because who eats peach cobbler without vanilla ice cream, right?). So, without delay, the big secret to this recipe was not graham crackers, it is yellow cake mix! Yes, I know what you’re thinking, who puts yellow cake mix in with a dessert that usually involved dough and crust. Well, I tried it, and LOVED IT! I hope you, your friends or family can enjoy it to. I moderated the recipe for a smaller size pan, I used a 9×9 square pan.

What You’ll Need: 

3 small peaches

2 cans of sliced peaches in heavy syrup

1 box of yellow cake mix (I used Duncan Hines brand)

1/2 cup of melted butter (I used Earth Balance, it is a vegan butter, GMO and gluten free)

1 teaspoon of nutmeg

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

1 teaspoon of vanilla

Instructions: 

First, slice the fresh peaches then combine them with the canned peaches with the heavy syrup into the baking pan.

 I mix all the peaches up a bit with a mixing spoon so that the fresh peaches are  covered in the syrup.

Add the nutmeg, cinnamon, and vanilla. Then mix the spices and peaches together.

Now, you can cover the peaches with the yellow cake mix, I used about 3/4 of the bag because I was using a smaller pan. You want the peaches to be covered by a thin-medium layer of cake mix.

Melt a 1/2 cup of Earth Balance butter in the microwave for 20-30 seconds

Evenly pour the butter on top of the cake mix

You can gently mix the butter around with the cake mix, but not too much because you want the cake mix to stay on top of the peaches

Peach Cobbler step 2      Peach Cobbler step 3     Peach Cobbler step 4

Then preheat the oven to 365 degree, and bake for 45 to 50 minutes

After 30 minutes, I took my pan out and used a fork to poke through the parts of the cake mix that were a little clumpy. You want to be sure the cake mix is cooking right, and not sitting powder

Put back in the over for 15 – 20 more minutes

When you take it out, the top should look medium brown

Serve with vanilla ice cream, and prepare to be surprised by how yummy this unlikely combo is

Peach Cobbler Final   photo 2-1   photo 1-2

 

 

Leave a Reply

